从大流行中恢复:了解COVID-19对2020年第二季度的影响

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on twitter

Table of Contents

像传染病这样的电影对流行病和威胁人类生命的未知病毒很着迷。 COVID-19的传播及其在我们脑海中震撼的恐惧与此类电影中所显示的没有什么不同。 但是,这些电影大多数都未能显示出病毒的真正影响-对企业,贸易和经济在这种情况下的发展方式的影响。 尽管世界已从数月的封锁中逐步重开大门,但重要的是要了解它如何改变了我们的世界。

随着第二季度末的到来,是时候再次来看一下市场每个季度的表现如何。 对于该季度,标准普尔500指数的预计收益下降为-43.8%。 如果确实是实际下降,则将是该指数自2008年第四季以来报告的同比最大跌幅(-69.1%)。 2020年第二季度,五家标普500指数公司公布了令人惊讶的每股收益正值,四家标普500指数公司公布了令人惊讶的收入预期。 

让我们看一下三个重要领域,并了解这里的趋势。

银行业

自从COVID-19爆发以来,银行业在股票和债务市场的表现再现了雷曼兄弟(Lehman Brothers)在2008年倒闭后面临的动荡经历。

在第一阶段,市场的抛售导致该部门的压倒性多数,导致该部门相对于其他部门的表现明显逊色。 尽管如此,银行国籍仍存在一些差异。 那些已经具有较高信用风险水平的银行看到其信用违约掉期(CDS)价差大幅增加。

自3月中旬以来采取的后续政策措施极大地帮助稳定了经济。 自3月中旬以来采取的后续政策措施极大地帮助稳定了经济。 利润较低的零售银行已将其长期评级前景下调至负面。 

Visa是该行业中传递一些积极消息的少数几个公司之一。 迄今为止,Visa的股票表现略好于大盘,但由于跨界业务开始显示出冠状病毒爆发的影响,该公司预计本季度也将放缓。

医疗保健和制药

Blue and Silver Stetoscope

资料来源:Pexels

全球首次公开发行股票投资顾问万丽资本(Renaissance Capital)在6月24日发布了一份报告,该报告表明医疗保健行业的IPO正在蓬勃发展。 该报告表明,到2020年第二季度,生物技术公司几乎占IPO活动的三分之二。

COVID-19疫苗竞赛也引起了人们的注意。 例如,在当前市场上,Novo Nordisk和Moderna的股票表现出色。 COVID-19的普及也为数字医疗产品创造了决定性时刻。 许多曾经被视为“必备品”的产品和服务最近已转变为必需品。 

展望未来,我们将看到来自科技巨头,政府和医疗保健利益相关者的更多创新。 迄今为止,总部位于美国的数字医疗公司在20年第二季度最大的一笔交易是远程医疗公司Amwell的1.34亿美元融资。 据报道,Amwell已于今年晚些时候申请首次公开募股,这增加了Covid-19驱动的远程医疗服务需求激增的势头。

科技

在大流行期间,我们已经看到诸如Zoom之类的SaaS公司的股票上涨。 在未来的日子里,Big Tech将在我们的生活中扮演重要角色,并将继续主导市场头条新闻。 

随着我们进入新的十年,一件事仍然可以确定:随着公司采用远程工作和消费的灵活模型,云的采用将继续上升。 COVID-19对技术行业产生了巨大影响,影响了原材料的供应,破坏了电子价值链,并给产品带来了通胀风险。 但是,更积极的是,这种破坏导致了远程工作模型的加速,并更加注重评估和降低端到端价值链的风险。 此外,潜在的碳排放量减少可能会导致人们重新关注可持续性做法。 随着最近物联网(IoT)的爆炸性发展,再加上计算能力和AI驱动工具的可移植性的提高,“边缘计算”的增长已为世界做好了准备。 投资者应注意这一事实,即大多数炒作反映在今天的价格中。 甚至一些简单的增长率,例如价格/销售/份额比率都达到了历史最高水平。

其他重要因素

尽管以上内容为您提供了目前正在发挥作用的市场趋势的更广阔视野,但我们还需要注意一些其他重要因素。 以下是我们希望在今年剩余时间里看到的宏观和微观经济主题的列表:

自1950年代以来,COVID-19冲击已造成全球经济最严重的萎缩。 然而,大多数分析人士认为,这种收缩将是短暂的,并且自然而然地会成为重担。 与过去的大多数全球衰退不同,当前的衰退以服务业为主导,而不是制造业为主导,这可能导致更大的失业。

但是,分析人士还预计,美国以及全球经济将在下半年反弹。 有人担心反弹被推迟,但到年底可能会出现有意义的复苏。 尽管我们看到情绪特别是情绪指标的上升急剧反弹,但监测基本经济活动的其他指标显示出复苏速度较慢

尽管中央银行的积极行动减少了即将发生的信贷危机的可能性,但确实存在一些风险,应予以密切监测。 美联储(Fed)可能不会追求负利率,但短期利率将长期维持在较低水平。

总结思想

随着经历了许多风风雨雨的长期投资者(2007/2008年的全球金融危机和欧洲主权债务危机)浮现在脑海,我们知道这也将过去。 在撰写本文时,开发有效治疗和疫苗的全球计划尚处于发展阶段。 我们已经看到全球各国政府在货币和财政刺激计划方面采取了积极的政策行动,旨在缓解经济损失并为复苏铺平道路。

在如此短的时间内出现最严重的市场下跌之后,我们在第二季度看到了前所未有的复苏,在许多技术相关领域创造了历史新高。 我们面临着高度的不确定性。 基本面是否能赶上迄今为止价格走势的预期? 在接下来的四年里,谁将领导白宫比赛? 前所未有的央行刺激政策是否会结束由人口和全球化驱动的数十年的通货紧缩趋势?

所有这些对于每个投资者都是重要的问题。 尽管我们没有未来的水晶球,但我们的顾问可以为您提供所需的任何解决方案。 如果您正在寻找可以帮助您的顾问,则可以随时通过[email protected]向Kristal.AI致信。

关于Kristal.AI

Kristal AI - 智能投資顧問首選 - Investment Freedom

资料来源:Kristal.AI

Kristal.AI是一个数字优先的私人财富平台,可为投资者提供来自世界顶级投资组合经理的精选投资组合的访问权限。 利用我们专有的算法,我们可以帮助投资者选择最佳的投资策略,优化投资组合以及以最佳的市场价值进行全球投资,从而实现其财务目标。

我们投资委员会的所有成员都曾在多家机构银行担任领导职务-Asheesh Chanda,曾任摩根大通向摩根大通私人银行销售的负责人; 德意志银行前董事总经理Swapnil Mishra; 摩根大通执行董事Thomas Meichl。

在Kristal.AI,我们一直致力于使您的投资旅程尽可能地个性化。 无论您是旅行,创造,建造,保存或还钱,金钱都绝对不能成为您追求理想的限制。 任何人都可以投资,这是我们的工作,赢得您的信任,并为您提供控制权,以您想要的方式积累财富。

相关:

AutoWealth促销代码2020:这是更好的新加坡Robo Advisor吗?

StashAway促销代码2020 +评论:您应该尝试吗?

如何使ETF成为有利可图的投资

This post is also available in: English (英语)

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on twitter

Recovering From A Pandemic: Understanding COVID-19’s Impact on Q2 2020

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on twitter
Reading Time: 6 min

Table of Contents

Movies such as the Contagion have a fascination with pandemics and unidentified viruses threatening human life. The spread of the COVID-19 and the fear it has managed to strike in our minds is no different from that displayed in such movies. However, most of these movies fail to show the real impact of the virus – impact on businesses, trade, and the way economies evolve through such situations. While the world is gradually reopening its doors from months of lockdown, it is important to understand how it has changed our world.

With the end of the second quarter upon us, it’s time again to look at how the markets have fared on a quarterly basis. For the quarter, the estimated earnings decline for the S&P 500 is -43.8%. If this does turn out to be the actual decline, it will mark the largest year-over-year decline in earnings reported by the index since Q4 2008 (-69.1%). For Q2 2020, five S&P 500 companies have reported a positive EPS surprise and 4 S&P 500 companies have reported a positive revenue surprise. 

Learn more about T&C’s of the promo code terms here

Let’s look at three important sectors and understand the trends at play here.

Banking

The banking sector’s performance in the equity and debt markets since the COVID-19 outbreak has replicated the tumultuous experience faced post the collapse of Lehman Brothers in 2008.

During the first phase, the market sell-off caused an overwhelming sweepover of the sector, causing the sector to underperform significantly relative to others. Still, there was some differentiation by bank nationality. Those banks which already had a high level of credit risk saw their credit default swap (CDS) spreads increasing by a huge margin.

The subsequent policy measures since mid-March have helped tremendously in stabilising the economy. These measures have, however, unanimously favoured banks with high profitability and healthy balance sheets. Less profitable retail banks have seen their long-term rating outlooks revised to negative. 

One of the few names in the sector to deliver some positive news is Visa. Visa’s shares have done slightly better than the broader market so far, but the company is also expected to experience a slowdown this quarter as its cross-border business starts to show the effects of the coronavirus outbreak.

Healthcare and Pharma

Blue and Silver Stetoscope

Source: Pexels

Renaissance Capital, a global initial public offering investment advisor, released a report on June 24 which suggests that IPOs in the healthcare sector are on a boom. The report indicates that biotechnology companies make up almost two-thirds of the IPO activity in the second quarter of 2020..

The race for a vaccine for COVID-19 has also thrown up some names to look out for. Shares of Novo Nordisk and Moderna, for instance, have been standout performers during the current market. The spread of COVID-19 has also created a defining moment for digital health offerings. Many products and services once considered “nice-to-haves” have recently transformed into necessities. 

Going forward, we will see much more innovation in this sector from tech giants, governments, and healthcare stakeholders. The biggest deal so far for a US-based digital health company in Q2’20 was telehealth company Amwell‘s $134M round. Amwell has reportedly filed for an IPO later this year, adding to the momentum from the Covid-19 driven surge in demand for telehealth services.

Technology

We have already seen stocks of SaaS companies like Zoom go up during the pandemic. In the coming days, Big Tech will play a huge role in our lives and will continue to dominate market headlines as well. 

As we enter a new decade, one thing remains certain: cloud adoption will continue to rise as companies embrace flexible models of remote working and consumption. COVID-19 has had a huge impact on the technology sector, affecting supply of raw materials, disrupting the electronics value chain, and causing an inflationary risk on products. More positively, however, the disruption has caused an acceleration of remote working models, and increased focus on evaluating and de-risking the end-to-end value chain. In addition, potential reduction in carbon emissions could result in renewed focus on sustainable practices. With the recent explosion of the Internet of Things (IoT), combined with the increased portability of computing power and AI-driven tools, the world is poised for the growth of ‘edge computing’. Investors should be mindful of the fact that most of this hype is reflected in today’s prices. Even some of the simple growth ratios like the Price to Sales/share ratios have reached historically high levels.

Other Important Factors

While the above gave you a broader perspective of the market trends currently in action, there are some other important factors that we need to be aware of. Below is a list of macro and micro economic themes that we expect to see playing out over the rest of the year:

The COVID-19 shock has created the sharpest global economic contraction since the 1950s; however, most analysts believe the contraction will be short-lived and will be front loaded in nature. Unlike most past global recessions, the current recession is services-led as opposed to manufacturing-led, likely resulting in larger job losses.

However, analysts also expect the United States—and the global economy—to bounce back in the second half of the year. There are concerns about the rebound being delayed, but a meaningful recovery by the end of the year seems likely. While we are seeing a rise especially in sentiment indicators rebounding sharply, other indicators monitoring the underlying economic activity are showing a slower rate of recovery

While aggressive action by the central banks has reduced the likelihood of an impending credit crisis, some risks do remain and should be closely monitored. The U.S. Federal Reserve (Fed) might not pursue negative interest rates, but short-term interest rates will remain anchored at low levels for a long period.

Closing Thoughts

As long-term investors who have navigated many ups and downs – the global financial crisis of 2007/2008 and the European sovereign debt crisis come to mind – we know that this too shall pass. As of this writing, the global initiative to develop effective treatments and vaccines is in an advanced stage. We have seen aggressive policy actions from governments across the globe, both in terms of monetary and fiscal stimulus packages, aimed at cushioning the economic damage and paving the road to recovery.

After the sharpest market fall in such short time, we have seen in Q2 an unprecedented recovery that has brought new all-time highs in many technology related sectors. We are facing high level uncertainty ahead. Will the fundamentals catch up with what the price action has anticipated so far? Who is going to lead the race for the next 4 years in the white house? Will the unprecedented central bank stimulus put an end to a multi-decade deflationary trend that was driven by demographics and globalization?

All these are important questions for every investor. While we don’t have a crystal ball to look into the future, our advisors can help you with whichever scenario you expect. If you are looking for an advisor to help you, you can always write to Kristal.AI at [email protected].

About Kristal.AI

Kristal AI - 智能投資顧問首選 - Investment Freedom

Source: Kristal.AI

Kristal.AI is a Digital-First Private Wealth platform that provides investors access to curated portfolios from the world’s top portfolio managers. With our proprietary algorithm, we help investors choose the best investment strategies, portfolio optimization, and global investments at the best market value to meet their financial goals.

All members of our Investment Committee have held leadership positions in various institutional banks – Asheesh Chanda, former Head of FICC sales to Private Banks of J.P. Morgan; Swapnil Mishra, former Managing Director of Deutsche Bank; and Thomas Meichl, Executive Director of J.P. Morgan.

At Kristal.AI, our endeavour has always been to make your investment journey as personalized as we possibly can. Whether you want to travel, create, build, save or give back – money should never be a constraint to your aspirations. Anyone can invest and it is our job to earn your trust and provide you with the control to build your wealth the way you want it.

Related:

AutoWealth Promo Code 2020: Is This The Better Singapore Robo Advisor?

StashAway Promo Code 2020 + Review: Should You Try It?

How to Make ETF a Profitable Investment

This post is also available in: 简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified))

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on twitter