全球股市上涨:现在投资是否为时已晚?

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on twitter

Table of Contents

冠状病毒大流行将在许多方面被记住,其中之一是历史上最快的股市复苏。 如果您在3月23日(即COVID-19崩溃的底部)购买了标准普尔500指数基金,那么到目前为止,您已经赚了32%以上。 极端的市场反弹让很多人想知道现在是否为时已晚,无法参与投资游戏。

从估值的角度来看,股票现在确实确实非常昂贵。 根据Factset的数据,标准普尔500指数未来12个月的市盈率为21.9。 这一被广泛采用的估值指标大大高于其5年平均值16.9和10年平均值15.2。 在过去的几周里,我们已经看到标准普尔500指数和技术含量高的纳斯达克指数一直创下历史新高。

这里阅读有关Syfe的完整评论。

本文包含会员链接。 Guidesify可能会从您的注册中收取佣金。

市场处于“历史新高”并不重要

如果应该让投资者“低买高卖”,那么当前的环境是一个糟糕的投资时机,对吧? 绝对不!

等待市场再次纠正会导致错过机会。 伟大的投资者彼得·林奇(Peter Lynch)可能说得最好:“准备进行修正或试图预期进行修正的投资者所损失的金钱,要比修正本身所损失的金钱要多得多。”

这样想吧。 标普500指数是美国股市的基准,在2019年创下20项历史新高。 在2018年,有18项历史新高。 在2017年,创下了62项历史新高。 

如果您决定在这些年来市场处于历史高位时不进行投资,那么您很可能会错过随后发生的高位。 当然,市场具有积极和消极的表现,但从历史上看,市场长期来看会上涨。 

尽管每个人都喜欢在市场低点买入,但把握市场时机非常困难。 甚至专业人士也无法正确地做到这一点。 更重要的是在市场上投入时间,尽早进行投资,这样您就不会错过不可避免的新高。 

但是,如果我在股市崩盘前立即进行投资怎么办?

担心市场可能会在您投资后立即崩溃,这是又一次经常使投资者退缩的担忧。 这是一个有效的恐惧。 毕竟,市场不能无限期地上涨。

这是事实:如果您确实在市场崩盘前进行投资,那么您的短期收益就会受到影响。 这是不可避免的。 但是,您投资的时间越长,最终的回报就越有可能接近长期平均水平。

资源:Occam Investing

如上图所示,即使您只是在这些重大崩盘发生之前进行投资,您的投资前景也会随着您停留时间的延长而提高。 在大约15到20年后,您的回报率趋于收敛于每年约10%的长期平均回报率。 如果您打算制定长期财务目标(例如退休),那么在经济崩溃之前进行投资仍然比根本不投资更好。 

关键是不要惊慌并保持投资。 当然,当您看到市场在不到一个月的时间内下跌了34%时,说起来容易做起来难,就像今年2月19日到3月23日那样。 这就是为什么根据风险承受能力进行投资如此重要的原因,即当投资表现不佳时,您可以承受的损失程度。

遵循的最佳策略 

考虑到市场随着时间的推移呈上升趋势,仅进入市场并保持投资状态就有意义,而不必担心市场处于高位还是低位。 Charles Schwab的一项研究突出了这一点。 研究发现,拖延比糟糕的时机本身更糟。 

该研究调查了五个虚构人物,从1993年到2012年底,他们在20年中每年每年获得2,000美元的奖励。 

  • 彼得·普拉夫(Peter Perfect)的投资时机完美,在市场触及最低点时总是进行投资。 
  • Ashley Action没花时间。 她一收到她的$ 2,000美元,便会立即投资。 
  • 马修·莫雷尔(Matthew Monthly)使用了平均费用成本策略。 他在12个月内投资了2,000美元,每个月初将钱投入工作。
  • 罗茜·罗滕(Rosie Rotten)的运气糟透了。 最终,她总是将自己的$ 2,000美元投资到市场的历史新高。
  • 拉里·林格(Larry Linger)一直在等待完美的投资时机。 因为他一直认为会有更好的机会,所以他最终根本不投资股票。

资料来源:Charles Schwab

结果令人惊讶。 Ashley Action立即进行了投资,根本没有尝试对市场进行计时。 但她的表现堪比彼得·完美。 她最终只少了$ 5,354的收入,尽管Peter Perfect能够在所有最好的时机进行投资。 

鉴于Rosie Rotten的营销时机如此糟糕,您可能会认为她的表现最差。 令人惊讶的不是。 她最终得到的钱比马修的平均美元成本少得多,而且比拉里·林格(Larry Linger)多得多,拉里·林格没有投资股票,而是购买了美国国库券。

不管市场处于什么水平,这样做的最大收获就是尽早进行投资。 没有人,甚至是专业的财富管理公司,都无法始终如一地确定市场底部。 而且,即使您以某种方式定期确定合适的时机,该研究也表明,无论市场高低如何,您都不会比花钱立即工作的人更好。

如果您仍然对在市场达到顶峰时投入大量资金的想法感到不满意,请考虑平均美元成本。 与市场时机相比,这是一种更好的策略,它可以确保您不会像拉里·林格那样落败。

准备开始投资了吗? 通过Syfe的专业管理,低成本投资组合实现您的财富目标。

相关:

Syfe促销代码2020:不仅是REITs

从大流行中恢复:了解COVID-19对2020年第二季度的影响

This post is also available in: English (英语)

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on twitter

Global Stocks Rally: Is It Too Late To Invest Now?

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on twitter
Reading Time: 4 min

Table of Contents

The coronavirus pandemic will be remembered for many things, one of which being the speediest stock market recovery in history. If you had bought a S&P 500 index fund on 23 March – the bottom of the COVID-19 crash – you would have made more than 32% to date. The extreme market rally has left many wondering if it’s now too late to get in the game of investing.

From a valuation perspective, stocks do seem to be pretty expensive right now. According to data from Factset, the S&P 500’s forward 12-month P/E ratio is 21.9. This widely followed valuation metric is significantly above its five-year average of 16.9 and its 10-year average of 15.2. And over the past weeks, we’ve seen the S&P 500 and the tech-heavy Nasdaq consistently hit all-time highs.

Learn more about T&C’s of the promo code terms here

Read our full review on Syfe here.

This article contains affiliate links. Guidesify may receive a commission from your sign-ups.

It doesn’t matter that the market is at an “all-time high”

If investors are supposed to “buy low, sell high”, then the current environment is a terrible time to invest, right? Absolutely not!

Waiting for the market to correct again results in missed opportunities. The great investor Peter Lynch may have said it best: “Far more money has been lost by investors preparing for corrections, or trying to anticipate corrections, than has been lost in corrections themselves.”

Think about it this way. The S&P 500, the benchmark for US stocks, notched 20 new all-time highs in 2019. In 2018, there were 18 all-time highs. And in 2017, there were a record 62 all-time highs achieved. 

If you had decided not to invest when the market was at an all-time high during these years, you would likely have missed the subsequent highs that occurred. Of course, the market has stretches of positive and negative performance, but historically, the market goes up over the long term. 

While everybody prefers to buy at market lows, timing the market is incredibly hard. Even professionals fail to get it right. What’s more important is time in the market, being invested early on so that you don’t miss out on the new highs that will inevitably follow. 

But what if I invest right before the market crashes?

The fear that the market could crash immediately after you’ve invested is another worry frequently holding investors back. That’s a valid fear. After all, the market cannot keep going up indefinitely.

Here’s the truth: if you do happen to invest just before a market crash, your short-term returns will be affected. There’s no avoiding it. But the longer you stay invested, the more likely that your eventual returns will be closer to the long-term average.

Source: Occam Investing

As the chart above shows, even if you were to invest just before these major crashes occurred, your returns prospect improves the longer you stay invested. After about 15 to 20 years, your returns tend to converge on the long-term average return of about 10% annually. If you are planning for a long term financial goal such as retirement, investing just before a crash is still better than not investing at all. 

The key is to not panic and stay invested. Of course, that’s easier said than done when you see the market falling 34% in less than a month, as it did from February 19 to March 23 this year. This is also why it’s so important to invest according to your risk tolerance i.e. the degree to which you can stomach losses when your investments perform poorly.

The best strategy to follow 

Given the upward trend of the market over time, it makes sense to simply enter the market and stay invested, instead of worrying whether the market is at a high or low point. A study from Charles Schwab highlights this best. It found that procrastination can be worse than bad timing itself. 

The study looked at five fictional characters who each received $2,000 every year for 20 years from 1993 to the end of 2012. 

  • Peter Perfect timed his investments perfectly, always investing when the markets hit their lowest point. 
  • Ashley Action didn’t time anything. As soon as she received her $2,000, she would invest it immediately. 
  • Matthew Monthly used a dollar-cost averaging strategy. He invested his $2,000 across 12 months, putting his money to work at the beginning of every month.
  • Rosie Rotten had terrible luck. She ended up always investing her $2,000 at market all-time highs.
  • Larry Linger kept waiting for the perfect moment to invest. Because he always thought a better opportunity would come up, he ended up not investing in stocks at all.

Source: Charles Schwab

The results are surprising. Ashley Action invested immediately and did not try to time the market at all. But her performance was comparable to Peter Perfect’s. She ended up with only $5,354 less, even though Peter Perfect was able to invest at all the very best moments. 

You would expect Rosie Rotten to fare the worst given that she had such bad marketing timing. Surprisingly not. She ended up with slightly less money than dollar cost averaging Matthew, and significantly more money than Larry Linger, who didn’t invest in stocks but instead bought US Treasury Bills.

The takeaway from this is to invest at the earliest possible moment, no matter what level the market is at. Nobody, not even professional wealth managers, can consistently identify market bottoms. And even if you do somehow get the timing right on a regular basis, the study shows that you won’t be much better off than someone who put her money to work right away, regardless of market highs or lows.

If you are still uncomfortable with the thought of investing a large amount of money when the market is peaking, consider dollar cost averaging. It is a better strategy than market timing, and it ensures that you don’t end up like Larry Linger.

Ready to start investing? Achieve your wealth goals with Syfe’s expertly managed, low-cost portfolios.

Related:

Syfe Promo Code 2020: It Is Not Just REITs

Recovering From A Pandemic: Understanding COVID-19’s Impact on Q2 2020

This post is also available in: 简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified))